Useful links

A list of online resources full of useful information for people living with diabetes, parents of children with diabetes, their families and friends, healthcare professionals and researchers.

Please note that although we have endeavoured to check sites before linking to them, JDRF does not endorse or accept any responsibility for the content of external websites.

Diabetes sites

NHS Choices – you can read more about type 1 diabetes – www.nhs.uk

T1 Resources – find support and information to help you manage type 1 diabetes – www.t1resources.uk

Bertieonline – type 1 diabetes education programme – www.bertieonline.org.uk

Are you in the UK and have forgotten any type 1 kit? The HELP! We forgot T1Kit! UK Facebook community may be able to help.

National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) – Focus on diabetes – www.nihr.ac.uk/nihr-in-your-area/diabetes/

Dr Foster – Health Service Finder – www.drfoster.co.uk/public.asp

Children with Diabetes – www.childrenwithdiabetes.com Please note that this is a US website but you can join the UK mailing list through it and access UK Facebook groups.

Runsweet.com – Diabetes and Sport – www.runsweet.com

BBC – www.bbc.co.uk/science/0/21704103

Diabetes Stories – www.diabetes-stories.co.uk

Supporting children with diabetes – www.scd.uk.com

Digibete – Video resources to help people and families manage type 1 diabetes – http://www.digibete.org/

Regional diabetes sites

The Tayside Diabetes Network – www.diabetes-healthnet.ac.uk

Diabetes in Scotland – www.diabetesinscotland.org.uk

Leicester Diabetes – www.leicestershirediabetes.org.uk

Stephanie Marks Diabetes Resource Centre at St Peter’s Hospital – www.asph-diabetes.org.uk

For adults

Sugar Surfing: A book about managing type 1 in a modern world – www.wisepress.com/sugarsurfing

Carbs and Cals – Books and an app for diabetes and weight loss – www.carbsandcals.com

Think Like a Pancreas: A practical guide to managing diabetes with insulin – www.integrateddiabetes.com/books

For children and young people

Youth Health Talk – www.youthhealthtalk.org

For health professionals

British Society of Paediatric Endocrinology & Diabetes – www.bsped.org.uk

Diabetes Bible – www.diabetesbible.com

Federation of European Nurses in Diabetes – www.fend.org

NHS Diabetic Eye Screening Programme – www.gov.uk/topic/population-screening-programmes/diabetic-eye

Nursing Standard – www.nursing-standard.co.uk

Other research funders and institutions

Cambridge University – www-gene.cimr.cam.ac.uk/todd

Kings College London – www.kcl.ac.uk

Medical Research Council – www.mrc.ac.uk

Wellcome Trust – www.wellcome.ac.uk

Other organisations

Association of Medical Research Charities – www.amrc.org.uk

Coeliac UK – www.coeliac.org.uk

DAFNE – www.dafne.uk.com

Department of Health – www.dh.gov.uk

Diabetes Research & Wellness Foundation – www.drwf.org.uk

Diabetes UK – www.diabetes.org.uk

Diabetics With Eating Disorders – www.dwed.org.uk

If you need specific advice on type 1 diabetes care in schools you can contact Diabetes UK’s Care in Schools helpline, find out more on their webpage: www.diabetes.org.uk/care-in-school

HEART UK – www.heartuk.org.uk

INPUT – www.inputdiabetes.org.uk

Insulin Dependent Diabetes Trust – www.iddtinternational.org

If you have any unused or unwanted insulin – you can donate them to developing countries via IDDT: www.iddt.org/here-to-help/helping-developing-countries

Insulin Pumpers – www.insulin-pumpers.org.uk

ipSOX – insulin pump accessories  – http://www.ipsox.co.uk

Macular Disease Society – www.maculardisease.org

Medic Alert – www.medicalert.org.uk

My Ageing Parent – www.myageingparent.com

Novo Nordisk – Changing Diabetes – www.changingdiabetes.co.uk

National Institute of Clinical Excellence guidelines for the treatment of type 1 diabetes – www.nice.org.uk/guidance/conditions-and-diseases/diabetes-and-other-endocrinal–nutritional-and-metabolic-conditions/diabetes

Society for Endocrinology – www.endocrinology.org

The British Dietetic Association – www.bda.uk.com

Association of British Clinical Diabetologists – https://abcd.care/